You are here

Brothers Under 9 1981


In 1979 the first steps were taken to establish Brothers Juniors when a meeting was chaired by Greg Ryan to officially form Brothers Juniors Rugby League Football Club - Cairns Inc., and to apply to the Cairns District Junior Rugby League Ltd for affiliation and to draw up the Club Constitution.

The first AGM was then held in July of 1981 to establish the Executive and Committee. This consitsted of the following:

PRESIDENT Edward (Ted) Hamilton
  Trevor Lester
SECRETARY Brian Simpson
  Heather Hamilton
TREASURER Keith Wilson
COMMITTEE Bob (Nugget) Mulley
  Peter Sergeant
  Colin Mulley
  Robbie O'Malley
  Brian Mulley
  Peter Duck
  Merv Petersen
  Glen Schwartz
  Dale Lordan
PATRON Mr. Kevin Kehoe


From fielding seven sides in the club's inaugural season, the club has grown to field sides in eleven age groups, with many of the younger sides fielding two teams.

In its initial years the Club played games at the then C.D.J.R.L. Grounds in Brown Street – on land loaned to the C.D.J.R.L. by the Catholic Church. The Club played its home games at Trinity Bay High School.

1982 saw the Brothers Senior and Junior Clubs commence construction work on their own Club grounds and facilities on land leased from the Cairns Regional Council in Behan Street Manunda.  These grounds and facilities were officially opened by the then Mayor Mr. Ron Davis in 1983 – and named “Stan Williams Park” after club legend Mr. Stan Williams.

Brothers continues to provide a strong platform for junior rugy league players to advance, with many players acquiring Region, State, and National honours from the club.